Breaking Rockefeller

Breaking Rockefeller

Download

SUMMARY:

The incredible tale of how ambitious oil rivals Marcus Samuel, Jr., and Henri Deterding joined forces to topple the Standard Oil empire Marcus Samuel, Jr., is an unorthodox Jewish merchant trader. Henri Deterding is a take-no-prisoners oilman. In 1889, John D. Rockefeller is at the peak of his power. Having annihilated all competition and possessing near-total domination of the market, even the U.S. government is wary of challenging the great “anaconda” of Standard Oil. The Standard never loses—that is until Samuel and Deterding team up to form Royal Dutch Shell. A riveting account of ambition, oil, and greed, Breaking Rockefeller traces Samuel’s rise from outsider to the heights of the British aristocracy, Deterding’s conquest of America, and the collapse of Rockefeller’s monopoly. The beginning of the twentieth century is a time when vast fortunes were made and lost. Taking readers through the rough and tumble of East London’s streets, the twilight turmoil of czarist Russia, to the halls of the British Parliament, and right down Broadway in New York City, Peter Doran offers a richly detailed, fresh perspective on how Samuel and Deterding beat the world’s richest man at his own game.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Peter B. Doran
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2016-05-24
File : 352 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780698170773


Anointed With Oil

Anointed With Oil

Download

SUMMARY:

A groundbreaking new history of the United States, showing how Christian faith and the pursuit of petroleum fueled America's rise to global power and shaped today's political clashes Anointed with Oil places religion and oil at the center of American history. As prize-winning historian Darren Dochuk reveals, from the earliest discovery of oil in America during the Civil War, citizens saw oil as the nation's special blessing and its peculiar burden, the source of its prophetic mission in the world. Over the century that followed and down to the present day, the oil industry's leaders and its ordinary workers together fundamentally transformed American religion, business, and politics -- boosting America's ascent as the preeminent global power, giving shape to modern evangelical Christianity, fueling the rise of the Republican Right, and setting the terms for today's political and environmental debates. Ranging from the Civil War to the present, from West Texas to Saudi Arabia to the Alberta Tar Sands, and from oil-patch boomtowns to the White House, this is a sweeping, magisterial book that transforms how we understand our nation's history.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Darren Dochuk
Publisher : Basic Books
Release : 2019-06-04
File : 688 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781541673946


The End Of The Beginning

The End Of The Beginning

Download

SUMMARY:

For the first time since a 5th century Greek physician gave the name “cancer” (karkinos, in Greek) to a deadly disease first described in Egyptian Papyri, the medical world is near a breakthrough that could allow even the most conservative doctors and pragmatic patients to use the other “c word” – cure – in the same sentence as cancer. A remarkable series of events has brought us to this point, thanks in large part to a new ability to more efficiently harness the extraordinary power of the human immune system.The End of the Beginning is a remarkable history of cancer treatment and the evolution of our understanding of its dynamic interplay with the immune system. Through Michael Kinch’s personal experience as a cancer researcher and the head of the oncology program at a leading biotechnology company, we witness the incredible accumulation of breakthrough science and its rapid translation into life-saving technologies that have begun to dramatically increase the quality and quantity of life for cancer patients. In clear and accessible prose, Kinch details the remarkable history of people, science, technology and disease and presents thrilling next-generation technologies that hold the promise to eliminate cancer for some, and perhaps ultimately, for all.

Details :

Genre : Medical
Author by : Michael Kinch
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2019-04-02
File : 336 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781643131085


The History Of The Standard Oil Company

The History Of The Standard Oil Company

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Ida Minerva Tarbell
Publisher :
Release : 1904
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : HARVARD:32044009592866


Mcclure S Magazine

Mcclure S Magazine

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre :
Author by :
Publisher :
Release : 1903
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : SRLF:A0004036398


Richard Branson His Life And Business Lessons

Richard Branson His Life And Business Lessons

Download

SUMMARY:

Richard Branson is a well-known international entrepreneur, and his lessons in life and in business, have served as an inspiration for everyone who dreams of pursuing a career in business, and seeks to make a name for themselves in the competitive world around them. In this book, you will learn about Branson, his different businesses as well as lessons he learned along the way that you can integrate in your daily life. This isn't a biography, it is more about how Branson got started in business, how he managed them, and how he handled failures and criticisms. This book also offers tips, advice, and secrets of how Branson achieved success in business, in spite of his many failures and the obstacles he faced along the way. If you want to achieve success like Richard Branson as an entrepreneur, planning to establish your own business, this book will prove to be a useful source of inspiration to help you along the way.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : J.D. Rockefeller
Publisher : J.D. Rockefeller
Release : 2015-11-09
File : 28 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781519200631


Great Fortune

Great Fortune

Download

SUMMARY:

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan and with it, for a time, the heart of the world. At the center of Okrent's riveting story are four remarkable individuals: tycoon John D. Rockefeller, his ambitious son Nelson Rockefeller, real estate genius John R. Todd, and visionary skyscraper architect Raymond Hood. In the tradition of David McCullough's The Great Bridge, Ron Chernow's Titan, and Robert Caro's The Power Broker, Great Fortune is a stunning tribute to an American landmark that captures the heart and spirit of New York at its apotheosis.

Details :

Genre : Architecture
Author by : Daniel Okrent
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2004-11-30
File : 560 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781101666906


Pro And Con Of Golf

Pro And Con Of Golf

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre : Golf
Author by :
Publisher :
Release : 1915
File : 276 Pages
ISBN-13 : UVA:X001084316


Machinists Monthly Journal

Machinists Monthly Journal

Download

SUMMARY:

Vols. 42-57 (1930-45) include separately paged reports of secretary-treasurer, auditor, roster of officials and other documents dealing with the activities of the association.

Details :

Genre : Machinists
Author by :
Publisher :
Release : 1916
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : UIUC:30112058003457


The Commercial Financial Chronicle

The Commercial Financial Chronicle

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre : Banks and banking
Author by :
Publisher :
Release : 1915
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : PSU:000057719047