Can T We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Can T We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Download

SUMMARY:

#1 New York Times Bestseller 2014 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST In her first memoir, New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents. When it came to her elderly mother and father, Roz held to the practices of denial, avoidance, and distraction. But when Elizabeth Chast climbed a ladder to locate an old souvenir from the “crazy closet”-with predictable results-the tools that had served Roz well through her parents' seventies, eighties, and into their early nineties could no longer be deployed. While the particulars are Chast-ian in their idiosyncrasies-an anxious father who had relied heavily on his wife for stability as he slipped into dementia and a former assistant principal mother whose overbearing personality had sidelined Roz for decades-the themes are universal: adult children accepting a parental role; aging and unstable parents leaving a family home for an institution; dealing with uncomfortable physical intimacies; managing logistics; and hiring strangers to provide the most personal care. An amazing portrait of two lives at their end and an only child coping as best she can, Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant will show the full range of Roz Chast's talent as cartoonist and storyteller.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Roz Chast
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release : 2014-05-06
File : 240 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781620406380


Can T We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Can T We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Download

SUMMARY:

Now in paperback, the #1 New York Times bestselling award-winning graphic memoir by New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast about her parents’ final years.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Roz Chast
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release : 2016-09-13
File : 228 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781632861016


Can T We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Can T We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Download

SUMMARY:

Celebrates the final years of the author's aging parents' lives through cartoons, family photos, and documents that reflect the author's struggles with caregiver challenges.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Roz Chast
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release : 2014-05-06
File : 228 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1608198065


Going Into Town

Going Into Town

Download

SUMMARY:

Washington Post "10 Best Graphic Novels of the Year" New York Magazine "The Year's Most Giftable Coffee Table Books" Newsday "Best Fall Books" The Verge "The Ten Best Comics of the Year" An Indie Next Pick Winner of the New York City Book Award From the #1 NYT bestselling author of Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant?, Roz Chast, an "absolutely laugh-out-loud hysterical" (AP) illustrated ode/guide/thank-you to Manhattan. New Yorker cartoonist and NYT bestselling author Roz Chast, native Brooklynite-turned-suburban commuter deemed the quintessential New Yorker, has always been intensely alive to the glorious spectacle that is Manhattan--the daily clash of sidewalk racers and dawdlers; the fascinating range of dress codes; and the priceless, nutty outbursts of souls from all walks of life. For Chast, adjusting to life outside the city was surreal--(you can own trees!? you have to drive!?)--but she recognized that the reverse was true for her kids. On trips into town, they would marvel at the strange visual world of Manhattan--its blackened sidewalk gum-wads, "those West Side Story-things" (fire escapes)--and its crazily honeycombed systems and grids. Told through Chast's singularly zany, laugh-out-loud, touching, and true cartoons, Going Into Town is part New York stories (the "overheard and overseen" of the island borough), part personal and practical guide to walking, talking, renting, and venting--an irresistible, one-of-a-kind love letter to the city.

Details :

Genre : Comics & Graphic Novels
Author by : Roz Chast
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release : 2017-10-03
File : 176 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781632869784


Around The Clock

Around The Clock

Download

SUMMARY:

This wacky romp from New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast includes entertaining antics for every hour, on the hour. Counting time has never been so fun! From 12 to 1, Lynn eats baloney With her imaginary friend, Tony. From 1 to 2, in his fanciest pants, Don is digging a hole to France. Do you ever wonder what your friends, enemies, brothers, sisters, and children are doing in the hours when you’re not there? This kooky twenty-four-hour tour of a day in the life of twenty-three different children will reveal answers from the absurd…to the hilarious…to the absurdly hilarious! Beloved New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast is at her finest in this picture book brimming with her trademark stamp of zany humor.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Roz Chast
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2015-01-13
File : 32 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781442496897


You Can Only Yell At Me For One Thing At A Time

You Can Only Yell At Me For One Thing At A Time

Download

SUMMARY:

The perfect Valentine’s Day or anniversary gift: An illustrated collection of love and relationship advice from New Yorker writer Patricia Marx, with illustrations from New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast. Everyone’s heard the old advice for a healthy relationship: Never go to bed angry. Play hard to get. Sexual favors in exchange for cleaning up the cat vomit is a good and fair trade. Okay, not that last one. It’s one of the tips in You Can Only Yell at Me for One Thing at a Time: Rules for Couples by the authors of Why Don’t You Write My Eulogy Now So I Can Correct It: A Mother’s Suggestions. This guide will make you laugh, remind you why your relationship is better than everyone else’s, and solve all your problems. Nuggets of advice include: If you must breathe, don’t breathe so loudly. It is easier to stay inside and wait for the snow to melt than to fight about who should shovel. Queen-sized beds, king-sized blankets. Why not give this book to your significant or insignificant other, your anti-Valentine’s Day crusader pal, or anyone who can’t live with or without love?

Details :

Genre : Humor
Author by : Patricia Marx
Publisher : Celadon Books
Release : 2020-01-14
File : 112 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781250225122


Theories Of Everything

Theories Of Everything

Download

SUMMARY:

The comprehensive book of cartoons from the beloved New Yorker cartoonist.--From publisher description.

Details :

Genre : Art
Author by : Roz Chast
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release : 2006-10-31
File : 400 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781582344232


Special Exits

Special Exits

Download

SUMMARY:

Joyce Farmer's memoir chronicles the decline of the author's parents' health, their relationship with one another and with their daughter, and how they cope with the day-to-day emotional fragility of the most taxing time of their lives. Joyce Farmer, best known for co-creating the Tits 'n Clits comics anthology in the 1970s, a feminist response to the rampant misogyny in underground comix, spent 11 years crafting Special Exits, a graphic memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home or Harvey Pekar, Joyce Brabner, and Frank Stack's Our Cancer Year, about caring for her dying father and stepmother.

Details :

Genre : Comics & Graphic Novels
Author by : Joyce Farmer
Publisher : Fantagraphics Books
Release : 2014-08-03
File : 209 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781606997604


Too Busy Marco

Too Busy Marco

Download

SUMMARY:

It's time for bed again, and Marco, a small red bird who lives with his (human) mother and father, simply has too much to do! He's got masterpieces to paint, underwater inventions to create, halfpipes to skate -- or better yet, inventions to create so that he can paint underwater while skateboarding at a world-class level! How can it possibly all get done? When one idea builds on top of another, and every object he encounters just screams inspiration, why would Marco ever want to put on his pajamas and brush his beak? With humor and a great deal of energy, this delightful new character from acclaimed illustrator Roz Chast will rev kids up and wear them out--just in time for bed.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Roz Chast
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2011-06-07
File : 32 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781442440708


Red Rock Baby Candy

Red Rock Baby Candy

Download

SUMMARY:

Shira Spector, whose drawing is visceral, symbolic and naturalistic, literally paints a vivid portrait of the most eventful 10 years of her life, encompassing her tenacious struggle to get pregnant, the emotional turmoil of her father’s cancer diagnosis and eventual death, and her recollections of past relationships with her parents and her partner. Set in a kaleidoscope of Montreal and Toronto, Red Rock Baby Candy begins in subtle, tonal shades of black ink and introduces color slowly over the next 50 pages until it explodes into a glorious full color palette. The visual storytelling eschews traditional comics panels in favor of a series of unique page compositions that convey both a stream of consciousness and the tactile reality of life, both the subjective impressions of the author at each moment of the life she depicts and the objective series of events that shape her narrative.

Details :

Genre : Comics & Graphic Novels
Author by : Shira Spector
Publisher : Fantagraphics Books
Release : 2021-03-23
File : 216 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781683964049