Chanel

Chanel

Download

SUMMARY:

A design aficionado's visual reference to some of the House of Chanel's most significant pieces explores five central themes, including the suit, the camellia, jewelry, makeup and perfume, and the little black dress, in a chronologically arranged tribute that reveals how key items have been rediscovered and reinvented by new designers.

Details :

Genre : Art
Author by : Danièle Bott
Publisher :
Release : 2007
File : 207 Pages
ISBN-13 : UCSD:31822035344233


Chanel

Chanel

Download

SUMMARY:

Chronicles the life and career of the French fashion designer, along with a discussion of the influences that inspired her and photographs of her clothes.

Details :

Genre : Design
Author by : Jean Leymarie
Publisher : Harry N. Abrams
Release : 2011-01-01
File : 266 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0810996944


Sleeping With The Enemy

Sleeping With The Enemy

Download

SUMMARY:

This explosive narrative reveals for the first time the shocking hidden years of Coco Chanel's life: her collaboration with the Nazis in Paris, her affair with a master spy, and her work for the German military intelligence service and Himmler's SS. Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel was the high priestess of couture who created the look of the modern woman. By the 1920s she had amassed a fortune and went on to create an empire. But her life from 1941 to 1954 has long been shrouded in rumor and mystery, never clarified by Chanel or her many biographers. Hal Vaughan exposes the truth of her wartime collaboration and her long affair with the playboy Baron Hans Günther von Dincklage—who ran a spy ring and reported directly to Goebbels. Vaughan pieces together how Chanel became a Nazi agent, how she escaped arrest after the war and joined her lover in exile in Switzerland, and how—despite suspicions about her past—she was able to return to Paris at age seventy and rebuild the iconic House of Chanel.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Hal Vaughan
Publisher : Vintage
Release : 2012
File : 336 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780307475916


Coco Chanel

Coco Chanel

Download

SUMMARY:

Sleek. Chic. Notoriously guarded. Welcome to the secret world of Gabrielle Chanel. The story of Chanel begins with an abandoned child, as lost as a girl in a dark fairy tale. Unveiling remarkable new details about Gabrielle Chanel’s early years in a convent orphanage and her flight into unconventional adulthood, Justine Picardie explores what lies beneath the glossy surface of a mythic fashion icon. Throwing new light on her passionate and turbulent relationships, this beautifully constructed portrait gives a fresh and penetrating look at how Coco Chanel made herself into her own most powerful creation. An authoritative account, based on personal observations and interviews with Chanel’s last surviving friends, employees and relatives, it also unravels her coded language and symbols, and traces the influence of her formative years on her legendary style. Feared and revered by the rest of the fashion industry, Coco Chanel died in 1971 at the age of eighty-seven, but her legacy lives on. Drawing on unprecedented research, Justine Picardie brings her fascinating, enigmatic subject out of hiding and uncovers the consequences of what Chanel covered up, unpicking the seams between truth and myth in a story that reveals the true heart of fashion.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Justine Picardie
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release : 2013-02-05
File : 352 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780062273826


Gospel According To Coco Chanel

Gospel According To Coco Chanel

Download

SUMMARY:

NOW IN PAPERBACK! A modern look at the life of a fashion icon—with practical life lessons for women of all ages Delving into the extraordinary life of renowned French fashion designer Coco Chanel, Karen Karbo has written a new kind of self-help book, exploring Chanel's philosophy on a range of universal themes—from style to passion, from money and success to femininity and living life on your own terms.

Details :

Genre : Self-Help
Author by : Karen Karbo
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
Release : 2011-03-01
File : 256 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780762774852


Vogue On Christian Dior

Vogue On Christian Dior

Download

SUMMARY:

In 1947, Christian Dior stunned the fashion world with his first collection, the “New Look,” which transformed the way women dressed, and he continued to send shock waves with his later shows, significantly altering the fashion landscape. Vogue on Christian Dior tells the story of Dior’s searchfor the perfect line and how his unique style and vision of women’s ideal silhouette developed. One of the most famous designers of the 20th century, his name still fronts one of the most successful haute couture fashion houses. Vogue on Christian Dior is a volume from the series created by the editors of British Vogue. It features 20,000 words of original biography and history and is studded with 80 color and black-and-white images from their unique archive of photos taken by the leading photographers of the day, including Cecil Beaton, Horst P. Horst, Irving Penn, and Richard Avedon.

Details :

Genre : Design
Author by : Charlotte Sinclair
Publisher : Abrams
Release : 2015-02-10
File : 160 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781613127773


Mademoiselle Chanel

Mademoiselle Chanel

Download

SUMMARY:

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century. Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood. Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny. Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her. An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : C. W. Gortner
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release : 2015-03-17
File : 432 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780062356444


The Little Book Of Chanel

The Little Book Of Chanel

Download

SUMMARY:

This monograph on Coco Chanel chronicles the life and legacy of one of history's most influential couturiers. From her early forays into millinery, through her revolutionary inventions in sportswear and jersey fashions for women, through the classics that have made her name, such as the Chanel cardigan jacket and the little black dress, to the global empire the brand is today under the helm of Karl Lagerfeld, this beautifully illustrated monograph offers a fascinating account of Chanel's evolution and innovation. Detailed photographs and sketches of her designs, along with fashion photography and catwalk shots, pay tribute to one of the world's most highly regarded fashion houses and the woman behind it.

Details :

Genre : Fashion
Author by : Emma Baxter-Wright
Publisher : Welbeck Publishing
Release : 2017-01-12
File : 160 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1780979029


Chanel

Chanel

Download

SUMMARY:

The authors examine the legacy of Gabrielle Coco Chanel, one of the 20th century's great icons of style. While Chanel mythologized her glamorous life through relentless self-invention, the bare facts of her biography are no less worthy than her legend.

Details :

Genre : Fashion design
Author by : Harold Koda
Publisher : Metropolitan Museum of Art
Release : 2005-01-01
File : 215 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781588391483


Chanel

Chanel

Download

SUMMARY:

In Chanel: An Intimate Life, acclaimed biographer Lisa Chaney tells the controversial story of the fashion icon who starred in her tumultuous era Coco Chanel was many things to many people. Raised in emotional and financial poverty, she became one of the defining figures of the twentieth century. She was mistress to aristocrats, artists and spies. She broke rules of style and decorum, seducing both men and women, yet in her work expected the highest standards. She took a 'plaything' and turned it into a global industry which defined the modern woman. Filled with new insights and thrilling discoveries, Lisa Chaney's Chanel provides the most defining and provocative portrait yet. 'Chaney's research is laudable, uncovering fresh details of Chanel's well-trodden rag trade to riches story' Evening Standard 'An unflinching examination of the historically inscrutable designer' Vogue Lisa Chaney has lectured and tutored in the history of art and literature, made TV and radio broadcasts on the history of culture, and reviewed and written for journals and newspapers, including The SundayTimes, the Spectator and the Guardian. She is the author of two previous biographies: Elizabeth David and Hide-and-Seek With Angels: The Life of J.M. Barrie.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Lisa Chaney
Publisher : Penguin UK
Release : 2011-10-06
File : 512 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780141972992