Martha S Vineyard

Martha S Vineyard

Download

SUMMARY:

"In the winter of 1982, long before she became the watercolor artist and author we know today, Susan Branch, 34-years-old and heartbroken from the sudden and unexpected end of her marriage in California, "ran away from home" to the Island of Martha's Vineyard hoping to gain perspective. It was meant to be temporary, a three-month time-out from the daily grind of being broken up and miserable, but within days of her arrival, alone and not quite in her right mind, Susan "accidentally" bought a tiny one-bedroom cottage in the woods - which is how she discovered she was moving 3,000 miles away from everyone and everything she had known and loved. Funny, observant, touching, and addictive (you are not going to want this book to end), based on the diaries she has kept all her life, Susan Branch relates her inspirational tale of lost love and self discovery, her search for roots, purpose, and destiny with laugh-out-loud honesty. A road map for overcoming loss, following your heart, and making dreams come true, charmingly hand-lettered and watercolored in Susan's inimitable style, there are diary excerpts, recipes, and hundreds of photographs."--Provided by Amazon.com.

Details :

Genre : Artists
Author by : Susan Branch
Publisher :
Release : 2016-05
File : 368 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0996044027


Rise Of Tourism On Martha S Vineyard The

Rise Of Tourism On Martha S Vineyard The

Download

SUMMARY:

Now known as a resort community and vacation destination, Martha's Vineyard was once a simple fishing and whaling community. From the popularity of the Methodist Campground, founded in 1835, the Vineyard soon blossomed into a summer vacation mecca, welcoming visitors to its quaint villages and scenic seashores. As whaling lost its economic dominance, tourism became the catalyst for a revived prosperity on the Vineyard. President Grant's visit to the Vineyard in 1874 drew national attention and marked the beginning of several presidential visits to the island. By 1900, Oak Bluffs had developed an amusement park atmosphere with the iconic Flying Horses, toboggan slide and grand seaside hotels. Join local historian Tom Dresser as he reveals the island's transformation into a premier tourist destination.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Thomas Dresser; Foreword by Nancy Gardella, Director of the Martha’s Vineyard Chamber of Commerce
Publisher : Arcadia Publishing
Release : 2020-06-22
File : 144 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781467143370


Travel History Of Martha S Vineyard A From Canoes And Horses To Steamships And Trolleys

Travel History Of Martha S Vineyard A From Canoes And Horses To Steamships And Trolleys

Download

SUMMARY:

The story of Vineyard transportation and the story of evolution and innovation. Getting to Martha's Vineyard has never been easy. Native Americans built canoes for the journey, and early settlers crossed Vineyard Sound in small sailing packets. Steamships dramatically changed island life. On the island, the horse-drawn trolley evolved into the electric trolley. Tourists and residents crowded railroads until they were replaced by the automobile. The story of Vineyard transportation is the story of an evolution of man and machine, of opportunity and necessity, of dependence and cooperative efforts. Join local historian Tom Dresser as he traces the changes in island living brought about by these transportation innovations.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Thomas Dresser, Foreword by Herbert Foster
Publisher : Arcadia Publishing
Release : 2019
File : 160 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781467140003


The Fairy Tale Girl

The Fairy Tale Girl

Download

SUMMARY:

Based on the diaries Susan has kept since she was in her 20s, The Fairy Tale Girl is book one of a two part series. Together the books are an illustrated memoir, charmingly designed in Susan's style with her whimsical watercolors and personal photographs. It's an enchanting story of love and loss, mystery and magic that begins in a geranium-colored house in California, and ends up, like any good fairy tale, on the right side of the rabbit hole, in a small cottage in the woods on the New England Island of Martha's Vineyard. The Fairy Tale Girl humorously explores Susan's journey as an artist and as a girl/woman, from the 1950s through the 1980s. In the first book of the series we get a revealing view of Susan's early life as the oldest of eight children and the marriage she imagined would be forever; it's filled with inspiration, romance and discovery, and a leap into the unknown.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Susan Branch
Publisher :
Release : 2015-10-30
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : 0996044019


The Rise Of Tourism On Martha S Vineyard

The Rise Of Tourism On Martha S Vineyard

Download

SUMMARY:

Now known as a resort community and vacation destination, Martha's Vineyard was once a simple fishing and whaling community. From the popularity of the Methodist Campground, founded in 1835, the Vineyard soon blossomed into a summer vacation mecca, welcoming visitors to its quaint villages and scenic seashores. As whaling lost its economic dominance, tourism became the catalyst for a revived prosperity on the Vineyard. President Grant's visit to the Vineyard in 1874 drew national attention and marked the beginning of several presidential visits to the island. By 1900, Oak Bluffs had developed an amusement park atmosphere with the iconic Flying Horses, toboggan slide and grand seaside hotels. Join local historian Tom Dresser as he reveals the island's transformation into a premier tourist destination.

Details :

Genre : Business & Economics
Author by : Thomas Dresser
Publisher : Arcadia Publishing
Release : 2013-04-09
File : 234 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781439670309


A Fine Romance

A Fine Romance

Download

SUMMARY:

The author presents a hand written, illustrated account of her two months exploring the English countryside.

Details :

Genre : Art
Author by : Susan Branch
Publisher : Spring Street Pub
Release : 2013
File : 260 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0984913661


Martha S Vineyard And Nantucket Fodor S

Martha S Vineyard And Nantucket Fodor S

Download

SUMMARY:

Authoritative, up-to-date travel information in a handy, compact format features tips on dining and lodging to suit any budget, facts on local transportation and holidays, detailed maps, sightseeing tips, and advice on shopping, nightlife, side trips, and outdoor activities.

Details :

Genre : Travel
Author by : Amy Wang
Publisher : Fodors Travel Publications
Release : 2008-04
File : 184 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781400019052


A Trip Around Cape Cod

A Trip Around Cape Cod

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre : Cape Cod (Mass.)
Author by : Ezra G. Perry
Publisher :
Release : 1898
File : 513 Pages
ISBN-13 : HARVARD:32044013885728


How To Keep A Secret

How To Keep A Secret

Download

SUMMARY:

“Fans of Karen White and Susan Wiggs will savor Morgan’s pairing of a second-chance romance with an intense family drama.”—Booklist, Starred Review “Emotional, riveting and uplifting. If you’ve got a sister, you’ve got to read this book!”—Susan Mallery, #1 New York Times bestselling author “Jane Green meets Sophie Kinsella. Heartwarming, emotional, funny and real - I adored this book!”—New York Times bestselling author, Jill Shalvis When three generations of women are brought together by crisis, they learn over the course of one hot summer the power of family to support, nourish and surprise Lauren has the perfect life…if she ignores the fact it’s a fragile house of cards, and that her daughter Mack has just had a teenage personality transplant. Jenna is desperate to start a family with her husband, but it’s… Just. Not. Happening. Her heart is breaking, but she’s determined to keep her trademark smile on her face. Nancy knows she hasn’t been the best mother, but how can she ever tell Lauren and Jenna the reason why? Then life changes in an instant, and Lauren, Mack, Jenna and Nancy are thrown together for a summer on Martha’s Vineyard. Somehow, these very different women must relearn how to be a family. And while unraveling their secrets might be their biggest challenge, the rewards could be infinite. Heartwarming and fresh, Sarah Morgan’s brilliant new novel is a witty and deeply uplifting look at the power of a family of women. Don't miss Beach House Summer, the ultimate beach read by USA Today bestselling author Sarah Morgan! One woman forges the most unlikely friendship of all, and embarks on a summer of confronting her past in order to build the future she wants.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Sarah Morgan
Publisher : HQN Books
Release : 2018-07-10
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781488095375


Martha S Vineyard Basketball

Martha S Vineyard Basketball

Download

SUMMARY:

Martha’s Vineyard Basketball: How a Resort League Defied Notions of Race and Class follows the rich history of basketball on the Island and tells the stories of the players and coaches themselves.

Details :

Genre : Sports & Recreation
Author by : Bijan C. Bayne
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
Release : 2015-03-19
File : 240 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781442238978