One Shot Harry

One Shot Harry

Download

SUMMARY:

Race and civil rights in 1963 Los Angeles provide a powerful backdrop in Gary Phillips’s riveting historical crime novel about an African American forensic photographer seeking justice for a friend—perfect for fans of Walter Mosley, James Ellroy, and George Pelecanos. LOS ANGELES, 1963: African American Korean War veteran Harry Ingram earns a living as a news photographer and occasional process server: chasing police radio calls and dodging baseball bats. With racial tensions running high on the eve of Martin Luther King’s Freedom Rally, Ingram risks becoming a victim at every crime scene he photographs. When Ingram hears about a deadly automobile accident on his police scanner, he recognizes the vehicle described as belonging to his good friend and old army buddy, a white jazz trumpeter. The LAPD declares the car crash an accident, but when Ingram develops his photos, he sees signs of foul play. Ingram feels compelled to play detective, even if it means putting his own life on the line. Armed with his wits, his camera, and occasionally his Colt .45, “One-Shot” Harry plunges headfirst into the seamy underbelly of LA society, tangling with racists, leftists, gangsters, zealots, and lovers, all in the hope of finding something resembling justice for a friend. Master storyteller and crime fiction legend Gary Phillips has filled the pages of One-Shot Harry with fascinating historical cameos, wise-cracks, tenderness, and an edge-of-your-seat thrill ride of a plot with consequences far beyond one dead body.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Gary Phillips
Publisher : Soho Press
Release : 2022-04-12
File : 288 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781641292924


Maximizing The One Shot

Maximizing The One Shot

Download

SUMMARY:

Designed for librarians who offer library instruction within the constraints of the hour-long one-shot, Maximizing the One-Shot: Connecting Library Instruction with the Curriculum proposes a method for redesigning one-shot instruction that is both realistic and integrated into the larger curriculum.

Details :

Genre : Language Arts & Disciplines
Author by : Jill Markgraf
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
Release : 2015-04-08
File : 188 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781442238671


Evaluation Of Flight Fire Protection Means For Inaccessible Aircraft Baggage Compartments

Evaluation Of Flight Fire Protection Means For Inaccessible Aircraft Baggage Compartments

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre : Aeronautical instruments
Author by : L. A. Asadourian
Publisher :
Release : 1951
File : 33 Pages
ISBN-13 : OSU:32435067593871


Abridgment Containing The Annual Message Of The President Of The United States To The Two Houses Of Congress With Reports Of Departments And Selections From Accompanying Papers

Abridgment Containing The Annual Message Of The President Of The United States To The Two Houses Of Congress With Reports Of Departments And Selections From Accompanying Papers

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre :
Author by : United States. Congress
Publisher :
Release : 1862
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : PSU:000018433463


Rationality In Social Science

Rationality In Social Science

Download

SUMMARY:

The concept of rationality and its significance for theory and empirical research in social science are key topics of scholarly discussion. In the tradition of an analytical as well as empirical approach in social science, this volume assembles novel contributions on methodological foundations and basic assumptions of theories of rational choice. The volume highlights the use of rational choice assumptions for research on fundamental problems in social theory such as the emergence, dynamics, and effects of social norms and the conditions for cooperation and prosociality. The editors Ivar Krumpal, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Leipzig Werner Raub, Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology and Interuniversity Center for Social Science Theory and Methodology (ICS), Utrecht University Andreas Tutić, Heisenberg Fellow of the German Research Foundation, Department of Sociology, University of Leipzig.

Details :

Genre : Electronic books
Author by : Ivar Krumpal
Publisher : Springer Nature
Release : 2021
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : 9783658335366


With One Shot

With One Shot

Download

SUMMARY:

A woman chronicles her efforts as an amateur detective to solve the forty-four-year-old murder of her beloved uncle in this true crime memoir. The brutal 1970 murder of LaVerne Stordock, a respected family man and former police detective, shocked his Wisconsin community. On the surface, the case seemed closed with the confession of Stordock’s wife, Suzanne. But the trail of secrets and lies that began with his death did not end with his widow’s insanity plea. Dorothy Marcic, a playwright, theatrical producer, and university professor, couldn’t put her doubts to rest. In 2014, she embarked on a two-year mission to uncover the truth. In the bestselling tradition of Ann Rule and M. William Phelps, With One Shot weaves a spellbinding tale of unmet justice and the truth behind a shocking family tragedy. Praise for With One Shot “A rapid-fire, real-life thriller.” —M. William Phelps, New York Times–bestselling author of We Thought We Knew You “A riveting, personal story of the American justice system.” —Kaylie Jones, author of Lies My Mother Never Told Me “A gripping tale, well worth reading.” —Lawrence M. Miller, author of The Lean Coach “Marcic excavates new depths of perfidy, cruelty and lies.” —Randy Cohen, former Ethicist for The New York Times “A compelling read about a true family murder mystery marked by intrigue, betrayal and injustice. ”—Leslie J. Mann, assistant prosecutor, Essex County, New Jersey

Details :

Genre : True Crime
Author by : Dorothy Marcic
Publisher : Citadel Press
Release : 2018-03-27
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780806538563


Letter Of The Secretary Of The Navy

Letter Of The Secretary Of The Navy

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre : Fort Jackson (La.)
Author by : United States. Navy Department
Publisher :
Release : 1862
File : 107 Pages
ISBN-13 : HARVARD:32044004369740


Predictive Intelligence In Medicine

Predictive Intelligence In Medicine

Download

SUMMARY:

This book constitutes the proceedings of the 4th International Workshop on Predictive Intelligence in Medicine, PRIME 2021, held in conjunction with MICCAI 2021, in Strasbourg, France, in October 2021.* The 25 papers presented in this volume were carefully reviewed and selected for inclusion in this book. The contributions describe new cutting-edge predictive models and methods that solve challenging problems in the medical field for a high-precision predictive medicine. *The workshop was held virtually.

Details :

Genre : Computers
Author by : Islem Rekik
Publisher : Springer Nature
Release : 2021-09-27
File : 280 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9783030876029


Laser Induced Damage In Optical Materials

Laser Induced Damage In Optical Materials

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre : Laser materials
Author by :
Publisher :
Release : 1986
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : OSU:32435025785155


One Shot At Forever

One Shot At Forever

Download

SUMMARY:

"One Shot at Forever is powerful, inspirational. . . . This isn't merely a book about baseball. It's a book about heart." --Jeff Pearlman, New York Times bestselling author of Boys Will Be Boys and The Bad Guys Won In 1971, a small-town high school baseball team from rural Illinois, playing with hand-me-down uniforms and peace signs on their hats, defied convention and the odds. Led by an English teacher with no coaching experience, the Macon Ironmen emerged from a field of 370 teams to represent the smallest school in Illinois history to make the state final, a distinction that still stands. There the Ironmen would play against a Chicago powerhouse in a dramatic game that would change their lives forever. In this gripping, cinematic narrative, Chris Ballard tells the story of the team and its coach, Lynn Sweet: a hippie, dreamer, and intellectual who arrived in Macon in 1966, bringing progressive ideas to a town stuck in the Eisenhower era. Beloved by students but not administration, Sweet reluctantly took over the ragtag team, intent on teaching the boys as much about life as baseball. Together they embarked on an improbable postseason run that buoyed a small town in desperate need of something to celebrate. Engaging and poignant, One Shot at Forever is a testament to the power of high school sports to shape the lives of those who play them, and it reminds us that there are few bonds more sacred than that among a coach, a team, and a town. "Macon's run at the title reminds us why sports matter and why sportswriting has such great power to inspire. . . . [It's] one hell of a good story, and Ballard has written one hell of a good book." --Jonathan Eig, Chicago Tribune

Details :

Genre : Sports & Recreation
Author by : Chris Ballard
Publisher : Hachette Books
Release : 2012-05-15
File : 272 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781401304324