Sixty Meters To Anywhere

Sixty Meters To Anywhere

Download

SUMMARY:

AUTOBIOGRAPHY: GENERAL. When Brendan Leonard moved to the West at age 23, he was a mess. He had a tenuous grip on sobriety, only six months after his last drink had landed him in yet another jail cell. It was the final mistake in a long list that included multiple arrests, wrecked cars, broken bones, fistfights, and ruined relationships. In Montana, he took his first steps into the Rocky Mountains, unwittingly beginning a decade-long obsession with climbing and a journey that would take him all over the West and Europe. Written with unflinching honesty and vulnerability, Sixty Meters to Anywhere is the memoir of a barstool storyteller who left the bar and found adventure, redemption, and a life that almost never happened.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Brendan Leonard
Publisher :
Release : 2016
File : 208 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1680510401


Funny Shit In The Woods And Other Stories

Funny Shit In The Woods And Other Stories

Download

SUMMARY:

Brendan Leonard's Semi-Rad.com has become the funny, introspective voice of everyman and everywoman adventurers-from the pitfalls of introducing a new love interest to a dangerous sport, to the mishaps we have trying to use the bathroom in the wild. Since 2011, more than one million visitors have read and shared Leonard's writing, making Semi-Rad.com stories some of the most viral outdoor content on the internet. Funny Shit in the Woods collects 40 of Semi-Rad's most popular stories in one volume: a single portable archive without the mouse clicks or internet searches-complete with all-new amateurish illustrations hand-drawn by the author, usually while in the front seat of a moving car. If you've ever considered the absurdity of sleeping on the ground in a place where bears live, pooping in a bag on a glacier, or trying to teach someone you love a sport that could scare them to the point of loudly threatening to kill you in front of strangers-or if you find yourself inexplicably drawn to adjust the burning logs in a campfire every two minutes, Funny Shit in the Woods will make you laugh, and might inspire you to get outside a little bit more.

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Brendan Leonard
Publisher : Semi-Rad Media
Release : 2014-09-01
File : 190 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0692286225


On The Nose

On The Nose

Download

SUMMARY:

Hans Florine embodies the genius of "and"—collaborative and competitive, fast and safe, audacious and disciplined, visionary and quantitative. The themes that run through Florine's 101 ascents of Yosemite's most iconic route can benefit people who will never climb a rock, indeed anyone inspired by the idea of a passionate, lifelong quest of any type. —Jim Collins, author of Good to Great Hans Florine is a big-wall climbing legend in his own time. He holds the speed record on the Nose route of El Capitan, a 3,000-foot granite cliff in Yosemite Valley that’s considered the Everest of the rock-climbing world. Ascending the Nose takes most climbers anywhere from 12 to 96 hours. Florine, along with climbing partner Alex Honnold, does it in an astounding 2.5 hours. But Florine’s story is not one of super-human athletic prowess; it’s one of persistence and dogged determination. In 30 years of climbing, he's ascended the Nose a mind-blowing, death-defying 100 times, more than anyone else ever has, and most likely ever will. In On the Nose, Florine describes the most dangerous, pivotal, and inspirational of those climbs, providing a rare look inside the adrenaline-charged world of competitive climbing in Yosemite Valley. He tells of his very first attempt on the Nose, which ended in failure after 14 hours, his friendships (and rivalries) with climbing’s most colorful personalities, and his battle with Dean Potter to secure the definitive speed record on the Nose—an endeavor that’s been called the wildest competition known to man. Perhaps most interestingly, Florine attempts to answer the question why. Why would anyone undertake one of the greatest adventure epics on earth 100 times? His answers provide unique insights on how to live a satisfying life, how to achieve big goals, and how an otherwise ordinary guy can become a rock star.

Details :

Genre : Nature
Author by : Hans Florine
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
Release : 2016-09-01
File : 240 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781493024995


Touch The Top Of The World

Touch The Top Of The World

Download

SUMMARY:

The incredible bestselling book from the author of No Barriers and The Adversity Advantage Erik Weihenmayer was born with retinoscheses, a degenerative eye disorder that would leave him blind by the age of thirteen. But Erik was determined to rise above this devastating disability and lead a fulfilling and exciting life. In this poignant and inspiring memoir, he shares his struggle to push past the limits imposed on him by his visual impairment-and by a seeing world. He speaks movingly of the role his family played in his battle to break through the barriers of blindness: the mother who prayed for the miracle that would restore her son's sight and the father who encouraged him to strive for that distant mountaintop. And he tells the story of his dream to climb the world's Seven Summits, and how he is turning that dream into astonishing reality (something fewer than a hundred mountaineers have done). From the snow-capped summit of McKinley to the towering peaks of Aconcagua and Kilimanjaro to the ultimate challenge, Mount Everest, this is a story about daring to dream in the face of impossible odds. It is about finding the courage to reach for that ultimate summit, and transforming your life into something truly miraculous. "An inspiration to other blind people and plenty of us folks who can see just fine."—Jon Krakauer, New York Times bestselling author of Into Thin Air

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Erik Weihenmayer
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2002-03-26
File : 352 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781101191880


The Hard Truth

The Hard Truth

Download

SUMMARY:

A no nonsense examination of what it takes to not only climb stronger, but to be a better climber.

Details :

Genre : Sports & Recreation
Author by : Kris Hampton
Publisher :
Release : 2020-05-14
File : 112 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1734103604


Why We Climb

Why We Climb

Download

SUMMARY:

Why We Climb is a celebration, in word and image, of those aspects of the climbing life that are most universal, meaningful, and long lasting— the strong connection to partners and nature; the physical and mental mastery required (and how to achieve it); the rewards of exploring oneself and the world through climbing. Through interviews with some of North America’s most notable climbers the book undertakes a quest to find the soul of climbing— asking what compels men and women to dedicate their lives to the challenges and deprivations of living in a vertical world? What are the sacrifices and what are the rewards? And most importantly, can the lessons learned on cliff faces, frozen waterfalls, and alpine peaks— lessons of respect, discipline, commitment, humility and simplicity—be brought home and used to benefit society as a whole?

Details :

Genre : Sports & Recreation
Author by : Chris Noble
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
Release : 2017-01-01
File : 320 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781493018543


Heavy Green

Heavy Green

Download

SUMMARY:

By 1967 the Pentagon could see that stopping the flow of weapons into South Vietnam was the only way the United States could win the war. Key to this effort was the aerial bombing of the Ho Chi Minh Trail, but the weather and air defenses of North Vietnam made that task nearly impossible. With the help of the Thai Special Forces and the Laotian hill tribes, the CIA put into place a covert program that could pinpoint each of the bombing raids. It was clear this top secret operation would tilt the axis of the war, and the North Vietnamese had to counter it. Meticulously researched and based on information that remained classified for 20 years, Heavy Green tells the story of this secret operation and the daring raid that intended to bring it down.

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Sam Lightner, Jr.
Publisher :
Release : 2017-04-30
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : 0692835733


Paper Towns

Paper Towns

Download

SUMMARY:

Special edition slipcase edition of John Green's Paper Towns, with pop-up paper town. From the bestselling author of The Fault in our Stars. Quentin Jacobsen has always loved Margo Roth Spiegelman, for Margo (and her adventures) are the stuff of legend at their high school. So when she one day climbs through his window and summons him on an all-night road trip of revenge he cannot help but follow. But the next day Margo doesn't come to school and a week later she is still missing. Q soon learns that there are clues in her disappearance . . . and they are for him. But as he gets deeper into the mystery - culminating in another awesome road trip across America - he becomes less sure of who and what he is looking for. Masterfully written by John Green, this is a thoughtful, insightful and hilarious coming-of-age story.

Details :

Genre : Bildungsromans
Author by : John Green
Publisher : A&C Black
Release : 2013
File : 305 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781408848180


Beyond The Mountain

Beyond The Mountain

Download

SUMMARY:

What does it take to be one of the world's best high-altitude mountain climbers? A lot of fundraising; traveling in some of the world's most dangerous countries; enduring cold bivouacs, searing lungs, and a cloudy mind when you can least afford one. It means learning the hard lessons the mountains teach. Steve House built his reputation on ascents throughout the Alps, Canada, Alaska, the Karakoram and the Himalaya that have expanded possibilities of style, speed, and difficulty. In 2005 Steve and alpinist Vince Anderson pioneered a direct new route on the Rupal Face of 26,600-foot Nanga Parbat, which had never before been climbed in alpine style. It was the third ascent of the face and the achievement earned Steveand Vince the first Piolet d"or (Golden Ice Axe) awarded to North Americans. Steve is an accomplished and spellbinding storyteller in the tradition of Maurice Herzog and Lionel Terray. Beyond the Mountain is a gripping read destined to be a mountain classic. And it

Details :

Genre : Sports & Recreation
Author by : Steve House
Publisher : Patagonia
Release : 2013-10-06
File : 288 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781938340055


Coral Reef Fishes

Coral Reef Fishes

Download

SUMMARY:

This is a handy guide to all fishes that are likely to be observed by anybody visiting or diving on the coral reefs of the Indo-Pacific and the western Atlantic Oceans to a depth of sixty meters. Accessible to amateur marine life enthusiasts, this book is the first comprehensive guide of its kind. It enables the reader quickly to identify 2,074 species of fish and includes over 2,500 color illustrations depicting the major forms of each species--male, female, immature, or geographical varieties. Here coral reef is used broadly to include areas adjacent to reefs where corals may occur, such as harbors, bays, and rocky tidepools as well as reef-associated habitats such as seagrass beds, sandy expanses, and open rocky bottoms. The text begins with a valuable introduction to such topics as the coral reef environment, habitats, ecology, social interactions, conservation, and dangerous marine fishes. Of particular interest is a section offering pointers on identifying fish. The text proceeds according to region, depicting each species and its varieties, and offering information on its geographic range and where on the coral reef itself the fish may be found. Important identification characteristics are highlighted on every color plate.

Details :

Genre : Coral reef fishes
Author by : Ewald Lieske
Publisher :
Release : 1999-02-01
File : 400 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0691004811