The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind

The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind

Download

SUMMARY:

Now a Netflix film starring and directed by Chiwetel Ejiofor, this is a gripping memoir of survival and perseverance about the heroic young inventor who brought electricity to his Malawian village. When a terrible drought struck William Kamkwamba's tiny village in Malawi, his family lost all of the season's crops, leaving them with nothing to eat and nothing to sell. William began to explore science books in his village library, looking for a solution. There, he came up with the idea that would change his family's life forever: he could build a windmill. Made out of scrap metal and old bicycle parts, William's windmill brought electricity to his home and helped his family pump the water they needed to farm the land. Retold for a younger audience, this exciting memoir shows how, even in a desperate situation, one boy's brilliant idea can light up the world. Complete with photographs, illustrations, and an epilogue that will bring readers up to date on William's story, this is the perfect edition to read and share with the whole family.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Author by : William Kamkwamba
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2015-02-05
File : 304 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781101637425


The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind

The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind

Download

SUMMARY:

Now a Netflix Film, Starring and Directed by Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave William Kamkwamba was born in Malawi, a country where magic ruled and modern science was mystery. It was also a land withered by drought and hunger. But William had read about windmills, and he dreamed of building one that would bring to his small village a set of luxuries that only 2 percent of Malawians could enjoy: electricity and running water. His neighbors called him misala—crazy—but William refused to let go of his dreams. With a small pile of once-forgotten science textbooks; some scrap metal, tractor parts, and bicycle halves; and an armory of curiosity and determination, he embarked on a daring plan to forge an unlikely contraption and small miracle that would change the lives around him. The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind is a remarkable true story about human inventiveness and its power to overcome crippling adversity. It will inspire anyone who doubts the power of one individual's ability to change his community and better the lives of those around him.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : William Kamkwamba
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release : 2009-09-29
File : 320 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780061937699


Muck City

Muck City

Download

SUMMARY:

Traces the intertwined stories of an orphaned quarterback, a celebrated football coach and an aspiring medical student whose prospects were collectively shaped by the formidable challenges, shameful history and football enthusiasm of their hometown in the Florida Everglades. 30,000 first printing.

Details :

Genre : Social Science
Author by : Bryan Mealer
Publisher : Three Rivers Press
Release : 2013-08-13
File : 322 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780307888631


The Book Of Boy

The Book Of Boy

Download

SUMMARY:

A Newbery Honor Book * Booklist Editors’ Choice * BookPage Best Books * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction * Horn Book Fanfare * Kirkus Reviews Best Books * Publishers Weekly Best Books * Wall Street Journal Best of the Year * An ALA Notable Book A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this award-winning literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock. The Book of Boy was awarded a Newbery Honor. “A treat from start to finish.”—Wall Street Journal Boy has always been relegated to the outskirts of his small village. With a hump on his back, a mysterious past, and a tendency to talk to animals, he is often mocked by others in his town—until the arrival of a shadowy pilgrim named Secondus. Impressed with Boy’s climbing and jumping abilities, Secondus engages Boy as his servant, pulling him into an action-packed and suspenseful expedition across Europe to gather seven precious relics of Saint Peter. Boy quickly realizes this journey is not an innocent one. They are stealing the relics and accumulating dangerous enemies in the process. But Boy is determined to see this pilgrimage through until the end—for what if St. Peter has the power to make him the same as the other boys? This epic and engrossing quest story by Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock is for fans of Adam Gidwitz’s The Inquisitor’s Tale and Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, and for readers of all ages. Features a map and black-and-white art by Ian Schoenherr throughout.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2018-02-06
File : 304 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780062686220


Wangari Maathai

Wangari Maathai

Download

SUMMARY:

“Trees are living symbols of peace and hope.” –Wangari Maathai, Nobel Peace laureate This simply told story begins with Green Belt Movement founder Wangari Maathai’s childhood at the foot of Mount Kenya where, as the oldest child in her family, her responsibility was to stay home and help her mother. When the chance to go to school presented itself, she seized it with both hands. In the 1960s, she was awarded the opportunity to travel to the US to study, where she saw that even in the land of the free, black people were not welcome. Returning home, Wangari was determined to help her people and her country. She recognized that deforestation and urbanization was at the root of her country’s troubles. Her courage and confidence carried her through adversity to found a movement for peace, reconciliation, and healing. Aurélia Fronty’s beautiful illustrations show readers the color and diversity of Wangari’s Africa—the green trees and the flowering trees full of birds, monkeys, and other animals; the roots that dig deep into the earth; and the people who work and live on the land. Wangari Maathai changed the way the world thinks about nature, ecology, freedom, and democracy, inspiring radical efforts that continue to this day.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Author by : Franck Prévot
Publisher : Charlesbridge
Release : 2015-01-06
File : 48 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781607347958


Energy Island

Energy Island

Download

SUMMARY:

It's windy on the Danish island of Sams². Meet the environmentally friendly folks who, in a few short years, worked together for energy independence, and who now proudly call their home Energy Island.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Author by : Allan Drummond
Publisher : Macmillan
Release : 2011-03-01
File : 40 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780374321840


Summary Of William Kamkwamba S The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind By Milkyway Media

Summary Of William Kamkwamba S The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind By Milkyway Media

Download

SUMMARY:

In The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope (2009), Malawian inventor William Kamkwamba and journalist Bryan Mealer explain how Kamkwamba, using little more than determination and a few library books, built a windmill capable of generating electricity near his family’s home. Born in 1987, Kamkwamba grew up in a village called Masitala, which is located in the Wimbe district near the city of Kasungu… Purchase this in-depth summary to learn more.

Details :

Genre : Study Aids
Author by : Milkyway Media
Publisher : Milkyway Media
Release : 2019-08-26
File : 35 Pages
ISBN-13 :


The Red Bicycle

The Red Bicycle

Download

SUMMARY:

Leo rides his beloved red bicycle to school, soccer practice and everywhere in between. He is devastated when he outgrows Big Red. But when Leo learns of a bicycle donation program, he perks up - someone who really needs his bike can give it a new life. Little does he know that Big Red will change other people's lives, too. Follow the bike as it travels to West Africa, where it helps people in Burkina Faso bring goods to the market, and serves as a makeshift ambulance, proving that an ordinary bicycle can be truly extraordinary.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Author by : Jude Isabella
Publisher : Kids Can Press Ltd
Release : 2015-03-01
File : 32 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781771384445


The Secret Lake

The Secret Lake

Download

SUMMARY:

A time travel mystery adventure for ages 8-11. A lost dog, a hidden time tunnel and a secret lake take Stella and Tom to their home and the children living there 100 years in the past. Here they make both friends and enemies and uncover startling connections with the present.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Karen Inglis
Publisher :
Release : 2011-08
File : 122 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0956932304


Thunderstruck

Thunderstruck

Download

SUMMARY:

A true story of love, murder, and the end of the world’s “great hush.” In Thunderstruck, Erik Larson tells the interwoven stories of two men—Hawley Crippen, a very unlikely murderer, and Guglielmo Marconi, the obsessive creator of a seemingly supernatural means of communication—whose lives intersect during one of the greatest criminal chases of all time. Set in Edwardian London and on the stormy coasts of Cornwall, Cape Cod, and Nova Scotia, Thunderstruck evokes the dynamism of those years when great shipping companies competed to build the biggest, fastest ocean liners; scientific advances dazzled the public with visions of a world transformed; and the rich outdid one another with ostentatious displays of wealth. Against this background, Marconi races against incredible odds and relentless skepticism to perfect his invention: the wireless, a prime catalyst for the emergence of the world we know today. Meanwhile, Crippen, “the kindest of men,” nearly commits the perfect murder. With his unparalleled narrative skills, Erik Larson guides us through a relentlessly suspenseful chase over the waters of the North Atlantic. Along the way, he tells of a sad and tragic love affair that was described on the front pages of newspapers around the world, a chief inspector who found himself strangely sympathetic to the killer and his lover, and a driven and compelling inventor who transformed the way we communicate.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Erik Larson
Publisher : Crown
Release : 2006-10-24
File : 480 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780307351920