The Bridge Ladies

The Bridge Ladies

Download

SUMMARY:

A fifty-year-old Bridge game provides an unexpected way to cross the generational divide between a daughter and her mother. Betsy Lerner takes us on a powerfully personal literary journey, where we learn a little about Bridge and a lot about life. After a lifetime defining herself in contrast to her mother’s “don’t ask, don’t tell” generation, Lerner finds herself back in her childhood home, not five miles from the mother she spent decades avoiding. When Roz needs help after surgery, it falls to Betsy to take care of her. She expected a week of tense civility; what she got instead were the Bridge Ladies. Impressed by their loyalty, she saw something her generation lacked. Facebook was great, but it wouldn’t deliver a pot roast. Tentatively at first, Betsy becomes a regular at her mother’s Monday Bridge club. Through her friendships with the ladies, she is finally able to face years of misunderstandings and family tragedy, the Bridge table becoming the common ground she and Roz never had. By turns darkly funny and deeply moving, The Bridge Ladies is the unforgettable story of a hard-won—but never-too-late—bond between mother and daughter.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Betsy Lerner
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2016-05-03
File : 320 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780062354488


The Bridge Ladies

The Bridge Ladies

Download

SUMMARY:

"The best book about mothers and daughters I've read in decades, maybe ever." Amy Chua For the past fifty years, Monday afternoons in New Haven have always been the same: Roz, Rhoda, Bea, Jackie and Bette - the Bridge Ladies. A card table with four folding chairs (and one dummy seat). A plate of homemade cookies or brownies on the kitchen counter somewhere, largely untouched. And once they begin the game, hours of silence, punctuated only by the sound of cards being plucked up or snapped down. As a child, Betsy Lerner thought the Bridge Ladies were fascinatingly chic, with their frosted hair-dos and shiny nylons. To the teenage Betsy, they seemed hopelessly square. As an adult, working in New York City, they were a relic of her past. But when her husband accepted a job in New Haven, she found herself right back where she started. Suddenly, the Bridge Ladies came hurtling back, their Monday lunch and Bridge Club still ongoing. They had accepted their lot in life and were, mostly, grateful. They didn't talk about their problems, much less those involving sex, relationships, or their children. On paper, they were unremarkable, even dull. But once Betsy started really looking at them, she realized that they were anything but. Wildly perceptive and, in turns, hilarious and fearlessly vulnerable, Lerner's memoir is required reading for anyone who has ever had a mother. And it teaches us an important lesson: Facebook may connect us across the world, but social media can't deliver a pot roast and it won't dry your tears. PRAISE FOR THE BRIDGE LADIES "Through the alchemy of a grand game, Betsy Lerner has woven a universal coming of age story for both mother and daughter. A poignant, humorous and often painful struggle through the pageantry of playing cards" Patti Smith, author of Just Kids and M Train "In her absorbing memoir, Lerner probes marriage, career, motherhood, depression, aging, death, religion and sex ... This beautifully written, bittersweet story of ladies of a certain age and era will have wide appeal." Publishers Weekly (starred review) "The Bridge Ladies reminded me of Tuesdays with Morrie, except it takes place on Mondays and has five Morries ... I devoured it in one greedy sitting, and started re-reading as soon as I finished." Will Schwalbe, author of the New York Times bestseller The End of Your Life Book Club

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Betsy Lerner
Publisher : Macmillan
Release : 2016-04-26
File : 324 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781925479102


A Crazy Old Ladies Guide To The World Of Bridge

A Crazy Old Ladies Guide To The World Of Bridge

Download

SUMMARY:

We use sarcastic humor and jokes as we introduce you to a bridge world that offers fun, travel and challenge for all ages. We discuss etiquette for tournaments, provide tips to refine your conventions and signals, and include instructions on how to fill out convention cards.

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Brenda Love
Publisher :
Release : 2020-01-16
File : 264 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1710583177


The Women Of Waterloo Bridge

The Women Of Waterloo Bridge

Download

SUMMARY:

London, 1940. After her fiancé breaks off their engagement, Evelyn decides to do her part for the war effort by signing up for construction work on Waterloo Bridge. Enjoying the physical work and her newfound purpose, she begins to realise that there could be so much more to her life than anything she'd ever dared to dream of. Grieving after her little boy dies in an air raid, Gwen is completely lost when her husband sends their younger children to the countryside for safety. Enlisting as a construction worker, she is partnered with cheerful Evelyn. Despite Gwen's initial reticence, the two women strike up a heartwarming friendship – but will it be enough to save Gwen from her sorrow? Musical prodigy Joan's life has always been dictated by her controlling mother. When an affair nearly ends in scandal, Joan finally takes her life into her own hands. Determined never to touch a violin again, she soon finds work at Waterloo Bridge. Yet there are other troubles for her to overcome... For these three women, only one thing is certain: the Second World War will change their lives forever. A heart-wrenching new WW2 saga for fans of Jenny Holmes and Soraya M. Lane.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Jan Casey
Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
Release : 2020-05-21
File : 320 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781838930738


All The Single Ladies

All The Single Ladies

Download

SUMMARY:

"Today, only twenty percent of Americans are wed by age twenty-nine, compared to nearly sixty percent in 1960. The Population Reference Bureau calls it a 'dramatic reversal.' [This book presents a] portrait of contemporary American life and how we got here, through the lens of the single American woman, covering class, race, [and] sexual orientation, and filled with ... anecdotes from ... contemporary and historical figures"--

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Rebecca Traister
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2016-10-11
File : 339 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781476716572


Dinner With Edward

Dinner With Edward

Download

SUMMARY:

A memoir of food and friendship “combining the warm-heartedness of Tuesdays with Morrie with the sensual splendor of Julie and Julia” (Booklist, starred review). Isabel Vincent first arrives at Edward’s New York apartment to check on him as a favor to his daughter. She has no idea that the nonagenarian baking a sublime roast chicken and a light-as-air apricot soufflé will end up changing her life. But their meeting comes at a moment of transition for each of them: Edward wants nothing more than to follow his late wife to the grave, while Isabel is watching her marriage unravel. As Edward and Isabel meet weekly for the glorious dinners that Edward prepares, he shares so much more than his recipes for apple galette or the perfect martini, or even his tips for deboning poultry. Edward teaches Isabel the art of slowing down, taking the time to think through her own life—cutting it back to the bone and examining the guts, no matter how messy that proves to be. Dinner with Edward is a book about love and nourishment, and about how dinner with a friend can, in the words of M. F. K. Fisher, “sustain us against the hungers of the world.” “A rare, beautifully crafted memoir that leaves you exhilarated.” —Rosemary Sullivan, author of Stalin’s Daughter “This is a memoir to treasure.” —Booklist (starred review)

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Isabel Vincent
Publisher : Algonquin Books
Release : 2016-05-24
File : 242 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781616206048


As I Crossed A Bridge Of Dreams

As I Crossed A Bridge Of Dreams

Download

SUMMARY:

Born at the height of the Heian period, the pseudonymous Lady Sarashina reveals much about the Japanese literary tradition in this haunting self-portrait. Born in 1008, Lady Sarashina was a lady-in-waiting of Heian-period Japan. Her work stands out for its descriptions of her travels and pilgrimages and is unique in the literature of the period, as well as one of the first in the genre of travel writing. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Sarashina
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 1989-12-05
File : 176 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0140442820


A Taste Of Bridge

A Taste Of Bridge

Download

SUMMARY:

Jeff Bayones Honors Bridge Club in New York is the largest in North America, perhaps in the world. This book is based on their beginners course, a series of six lessons that have started thousands of people on the road to enjoying the worlds most popular card game. And no, you wont be able to play bridge when youve read it but if you were to take up tennis, or the piano, how far would six lessons get you? The hope is that the reader will be hooked, and having acquired a taste for bridge, will go on to more comprehensive courses. This one is just to whet the appetite.

Details :

Genre : Games & Activities
Author by : Jeff Bayone
Publisher : Master Point Press
Release : 2017-06
File : 224 Pages
ISBN-13 : 177140034X


The Complete Best Of Bridge Cookbooks

The Complete Best Of Bridge Cookbooks

Download

SUMMARY:

All the fabulous recipes from Aces and That's Trump in one handy volume.

Details :

Genre : Cooking
Author by : Karen Brimacombe
Publisher : Robert Rose
Release : 2013-08-08
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0778804593


Best Of Bridge The Family Slow Cooker

Best Of Bridge The Family Slow Cooker

Download

SUMMARY:

Best of Bridge is back with an all-new book and an all-new group of ladies.

Details :

Genre : Cooking
Author by : Elizabeth Chorney-Booth
Publisher : Robert Rose
Release : 2016-10-31
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0778805441