The Final Season

The Final Season

Download

SUMMARY:

Maybe your dad took you to ball games at Fenway, Wrigley, or Ebbets. Maybe the two of you watched broadcasts from Yankee Stadium or Candlestick Park, or listened as Red Barber or Vin Scully called the plays on radio. Or maybe he coached your team or just played catch with you in the yard. Chances are good that if you're a baseball fan, your dad had something to do with it--and your thoughts of the sport evoke thoughts of him. If so, you will treasure The Final Season, a poignant true story about baseball and heroes, family and forgiveness, doubts and dreams, and a place that brings them all together. Growing up in the 60s and 70s, Tom Stanton lived for his Detroit Tigers. When Tiger Stadium began its 88th and final season, he vowed to attend all 81 home games in order to explore his attachment to the place where four generations of his family have shared baseball. Join him as he encounters idols, conjures decades past, and discovers the mysteries of a park where Cobb and Ruth played. Come along and sit beside Al Kaline on the dugout bench, eat popcorn with Elmore Leonard, hear Alice Cooper's confessions, soak up the warmth of Ernie Harwell, see McGwire and Ripken up close, and meet Chicken Legs Rau, Bleacher Pete, Al the Usher, and a parade of fans who are anything but ordinary. By the autumn of his odyssey, Stanton comes to realize that his anguish isn't just about the loss of a beloved ballpark but about his dad's mortality, for at the heart of this story is the love between fathers and sons--a theme that resonates with baseball fans of all ages.

Details :

Genre : Sports & Recreation
Author by : Tom Stanton
Publisher : Macmillan
Release : 2007-04-01
File : 256 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1429981113


Final Season

Final Season

Download

SUMMARY:

**INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER** From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a gripping, deeply personal standalone football novel about a star middle school quarterback faced with a life-changing decision after his dad is diagnosed with ALS. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! With two all-star college football players for brothers and a former Atlanta Falcons defensive lineman for a father, it is only natural for sixth-grade quarterback Benjamin Redd to follow in their footsteps. However, after his dad receives a heartbreaking ALS diagnosis—connected to all those hard hits and tackles he took on the field—Ben’s mom becomes more determined than ever to get Ben to quit football. Ben isn’t playing just for himself though. This might be his dad’s last chance to coach. And his teammates need a quarterback that can lead them to the championships. But as Ben watches the heavy toll ALS takes on his dad’s body, he begins to question if this should be his final season after all.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Tim Green
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2021-09-14
File : 304 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780062486134


The Final Season

The Final Season

Download

SUMMARY:

With 1,098 wins and eight national championships, Lady Vol Coach Pat Summitt has left a remarkable legacy of perseverance, leadership, and passion for the game—but her victories on the court aren’t the only legacy she has left in her wake. Since the beginning of her career as Lady Vol head coach at twenty-two years old, Pat Head Summitt effectively established the University of Tennessee Lady Vols as the top women’s athletics program in the nation. The winningest coach in the history of NCAA basketball, Summitt overcame one obstacle after another on the road to every victory, but it is the lives she has impacted along the way that tell the story of her true legacy. Forever a role model for young women, expecting nothing but the best from her players and from those around her, her legacy has never faltered—not even during her final season as head coach, when she faced her fiercest adversary yet: the diagnosis of early-onset Alzheimer’s disease. In The Final Season: The Perseverance of Pat Summitt, Maria M. Cornelius tells the story of her final coaching season through the eyes of those who know her best, from players to support staff to Summitt’s closest friends and advisors. Beginning with the diagnosis that shook the Tennessee community in the summer of 2011 and continuing through to the final game of the 2011–12 season, The Final Season presents readers with a behind-the-scenes look at the conclusion of Summitt’s coaching career, detailing from the perspective of a sports writer how her diagnosis impacted her players and her staff as well as her fans. With forewords by former Lady Vol Candace Parker and Swish Appeal editor Mike Robinson, The Final Season reveals how Summitt’s remarkable story of perseverance not only united a team of young women but also brought an entire sports following together, revealing an incredible support system that spanned far beyond Summitt’s Tennessee community. The coach’s determined spirit, selfless love, and sense of humor shine through the pages of Cornelius’s book, painting for readers the picture of a beloved leader and detailing the personal moments of defeat and triumph that make Summitt a true champion.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Maria Cornelius
Publisher : Univ. of Tennessee Press
Release : 2016-09-30
File : 311 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781621902720


The Last Season

The Last Season

Download

SUMMARY:

Destined to become a classic of adventure literature, The Last Season examines the extraordinary life of legendary backcountry ranger Randy Morgenson and his mysterious disappearance in California's unforgiving Sierra Nevada—mountains as perilous as they are beautiful. Eric Blehm's masterful work is a gripping detective story interwoven with the riveting biography of a complicated, original, and wholly fascinating man.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Eric Blehm
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release : 2009-10-13
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780061869990


The Last Season

The Last Season

Download

SUMMARY:

A 60-year-old son and his aging father reflect on their lives and share poignant and irreverent memories as they attend a full season of Ole Miss football games together, just as they had over half a century ago.

Details :

Genre : Family & Relationships
Author by : Stuart Stevens
Publisher : Vintage
Release : 2016-08
File : 224 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780804172509


The Last Season

The Last Season

Download

SUMMARY:

An inside look at the season that proved to be the final ride of a truly great dynasty—Kobe Bryant, Shaq, and the LA Lakers For the countless basketball fans who were spellbound by the Los Angeles Lakers’ 2003–2004 high-wire act, this book is a rare and phenomenal treat. In The Last Season, Lakers coach Phil Jackson draws on his trademark honesty and insight to tell the whole story of the season that proved to be the final ride of a truly great dynasty. From the signing of future Hall-of-Famers Karl Malone and Gary Payton to the Kobe Bryant rape case/media circus, this is a riveting tale of clashing egos, public feuds, contract disputes, and team meltdowns that only a coach, and a writer, of Jackson’s candor, experience, and ability could tell. Full of tremendous human drama and offering lessons on coaching and on life, this is a book that no sports fan can possibly pass up.

Details :

Genre : Sports & Recreation
Author by : Phil Jackson
Publisher : Penguin Books
Release : 2005-10-04
File : 320 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0143035878


The Final Season

The Final Season

Download

SUMMARY:

This is it-senior season and a good chance to compete for state! Player dad Steve Pelham isn't about to miss a second of the excitement he's sure will be provided by his son, Woody, and the other ten seniors of the high school team. Not even the specter of cancer's return is going to keep Steve from a minute of this, "The Final Season." Even non-baseball fans will delight in this front-row viewing of emotional wins and losses, pivotal personal choices, and trying tests of faith as the Sandy Pines Panthers claw their way toward the state championship series. The book culminates in a climactic surprise ending that will leave readers both stunned and impressed.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : E. C. Putnam
Publisher : Tate Publishing
Release : 2010-01
File : 266 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781607999348


The Final Season

The Final Season

Download

SUMMARY:

A moving narrative history of the professional footballers who fought and died in World War I, with a foreword by Gary Lineker. In 1914, as today, successful footballers were heroes and role models. They were the sporting superstars of their time; symbols of youth, health and vigour. Naturally enough, when war broke out they felt it was their duty to join up and fight. Between 1914 and 1918, 213 professional players fell in action. Some teams lost half their players, either killed or else so badly injured in mind and body that they were never to play again. The Final Season is the powerfully moving account of these young men who swapped the turf of the pitch and the cheers of the fans for the freezing mud of the battlefield and the terrible scream of shell fire. It follows them as they leave their fans and families behind, undergo training and then travel on to the bloody arenas of war: Ypres, Gallipoli, the Somme, Passchendaele. Nigel McCrery paints these men in vivid detail. From their achievements on the football pitch to their heroic conduct on the battlefield, we will learn of the selfless courage and determination they displayed in the face of adversity. For far too many, we will also learn when, and how, they made the ultimate sacrifice.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Nigel McCrery
Publisher : Random House
Release : 2014-08-21
File : 288 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781473505858


The Last Season

The Last Season

Download

SUMMARY:

Now that his hockey career is ending, what will become of his life? Felix Batterinski grew up tough in Northern Ontario where hockey was the only way out of a life of grinding poverty. He got out and enjoyed fame as a hockey "enforcer" for the Philadelphia Flyers. But fame is fleeting. Now in his thirties and at the end of his playing career, Felix tries to make a go of it as a player-coach for a Finnish club. As the lone Canadian on the team, he is an outsider with a reputation that takes on a life of its own. When a controversial play brings his comeback bid to a screeching halt, Felix is faced with his own obsolescence and begins a tragic descent into disillusion and despair.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Roy MacGregor
Publisher : Dundurn
Release : 2012-11-24
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781459706880


One Final Season

One Final Season

Download

SUMMARY:

Three years ago, Kate rejected Edmund, Lord Shuttleworth's impassioned marriage proposal in no uncertain terms. Now he's back, and it's Kate's final season. She needs a straightforward, paper-only marriage, yet her feelings for Edmund are anything but straightforward! Shocked by Edmund's reappearance at a lavish house party, Kate flees to the private study to compose herself. But her self-control doesn't last for long…. Caught in a compromising situation, the man she can't possibly marry is suddenly announcing their betrothal to the ton!

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Elizabeth Beacon
Publisher : Harlequin
Release : 2011-07-01
File : 288 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781459208216