The Lemon Tree Young Readers Edition

The Lemon Tree Young Readers Edition

Download

SUMMARY:

In 1967, a twenty-five-year-old refugee named Bashir Khairi traveled from the Palestinian hill town of Ramallah to Ramla, Israel, with a goal: to see the beloved stone house with the lemon tree in its backyard that he and his family had been forced to leave nineteen years earlier. When he arrived, he was greeted by one of its new residents: Dalia Eshkenazi Landau, a nineteen-year-old Israeli college student whose family had fled Europe following the Holocaust. She had lived in that house since she was eleven months old. On the stoop of this shared house, Dalia and Bashir began a surprising friendship, forged in the aftermath of war and later tested as political tensions ran high and Israelis and Palestinians each asserted their own right to live on this land. Adapted from the award-winning adult book and based on Sandy Tolan's extensive research and reporting, The Lemon Tree is a deeply personal story of two people seeking hope, transformation, and home.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Author by : Sandy Tolan
Publisher : Bloomsbury Children's Books
Release : 2020-10-06
File : 208 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781547603947


The Lemon Tree

The Lemon Tree

Download

SUMMARY:

With a new afterword by the author, and a sneak preview of Sandy Tolan's new book, Children of the Stone In 1967, Bashir Al-Khayri, a Palestinian twenty-five-year-old, journeyed to Israel, with the goal of seeing the beloved old stone house, with the lemon tree behind it, that he and his family had fled nineteen years earlier. To his surprise, when he found the house he was greeted by Dalia Ashkenazi Landau, a nineteen-year-old Israeli college student, whose family fled Europe for Israel following the Holocaust. On the stoop of their shared home, Dalia and Bashir began a rare friendship, forged in the aftermath of war and tested over the next thirty-five years in ways that neither could imagine on that summer day in 1967. Based on extensive research, and springing from his enormously resonant documentary that aired on NPR's Fresh Air in 1998, Sandy Tolan brings the Israeli-Palestinian conflict down to its most human level, suggesting that even amid the bleakest political realities there exist stories of hope and reconciliation.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Sandy Tolan
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release : 2008-12-01
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781596919228


When Grandma Gives You A Lemon Tree

When Grandma Gives You A Lemon Tree

Download

SUMMARY:

"When life gives you lemons, make lemonade." In this imaginative take on that popular saying, a child is surprised to receive a lemon tree from Grandma for her birthday. After all, she DID ask for a new gadget! But when she follows the narrator's careful--and funny--instructions, she discovers that the tree might be exactly what she wanted after all.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Jamie L. B. Deenihan
Publisher : Sterling Children's Books
Release : 2019-03-05
File : 32 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1454923814


The Lemon Tree

The Lemon Tree

Download

SUMMARY:

Based on a 43-minute radio documentary that Tolan produced for "Fresh Air," this volume pursues the story into the homes and histories of the two families at its center through the present day. Their stories form a personal microcosm of the last 70 years of Israeli-Palestinian history.

Details :

Genre : Arab-Israeli conflict
Author by : Sandy Tolan
Publisher : Random House
Release : 2008
File : 558 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780552155144


The Lemon Tree Hotel

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Download

SUMMARY:

A story about love, family secrets, and a little piece of heaven . . . In the beautiful village of Vernazza, the Mazzone family have transformed an old convent overlooking the glamorous Italian Riviera into the elegant Lemon Tree Hotel. For Chiara, her daughter Elene and her granddaughter Isabella, the running of their hotel is the driving force in their lives. One day, two unexpected guests check in. The first, Dante, is a face from Chiara's past, but what exactly happened between them all those years ago, Elene wonders. Meanwhile, Isabella is preoccupied with the second guest, a mysterious young man who seems to know a lot about the history of the old convent and the people who live there. Isabella is determined to find out his true intentions and discover the secret past of the Lemon Tree Hotel.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Rosanna Ley
Publisher : Quercus Publishing
Release : 2019-03-07
File : 544 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781786483379


As Long As The Lemon Trees Grow

As Long As The Lemon Trees Grow

Download

SUMMARY:

Eighteen-year-old Salama Kassab, a pharmacy student volunteering at the hospital in Homs, is desperate to find passage on a refugee boat for herself and her pregnant best friend, but first she must learn to see the events around her for what they are--not a war, but a revolution.

Details :

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Author by : Zoulfa Katouh
Publisher :
Release : 2022
File : 416 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0316351377


Under The Lemon Trees

Under The Lemon Trees

Download

SUMMARY:

A beautifully written debut novel of a young Indian woman struggling between embracing her heritage and fitting in as an American In Oak Grove, California, 1976, there are as many Sikh temples as Christian churches, the city council has prints announcements in both English and Punjabi and the large Indian immigrant community is gracefully coexists with the old farming families. But for 15-year-old Jeeto, figuring out where she fits best—and what she must do to find that fit—isn't so easy. Jeeto soon realizes that the women around her do far more than drink tea on balmy California afternoons—their traditions and religion give shape to fortune and destiny in a world of arranged marriages and strict family politics that force Jeeto to struggle with reconciling the possibilities of freedom and love. In the tradition of Jhumpa Lahiri and Arundhati Roy, Under the Lemon Trees is poised to speak to this same audience in an historically successful market. A stellar debut from an acclaimed writer, this is a story about finding love and discovering a true home while navigating traditions, family and faith—part Bend it Like Beckham, part Monsoon Wedding, this is a cultural and romantic tour de force.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Bhira Backhaus
Publisher : Macmillan
Release : 2009-03-17
File : 352 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781429964814


The Lemon Tree

The Lemon Tree

Download

SUMMARY:

When it’s pouring with rain, Gogo decides to pass the time by making some pancakes. But she soon discovers that the family has run out of three important ingredients: flour, eggs and milk. Without those, you can’t make pancakes. But clever Gogo has an idea. She sends Lungi and Sipho to a different neighbour to borrow what they need, and to take each of them a gift of lemons from the family’s lemon tree in return. And so, due to the kindness of the neighbours, Gogo and the eager children are finally able to make the pancakes. In The Lemon Tree, nominated for a prestigious Golden Baobab Prize in 2014, author Katherine Graham tells a simple, moral story with charm and an ability to transport the young reader evocatively into the moment. The story is beautifully illustrated by Wendy Paterson.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Katherine Graham
Publisher : Penguin Random House South Africa
Release : 2016-07-12
File : 32 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781432308056


Underneath The Lemon Tree

Underneath The Lemon Tree

Download

SUMMARY:

On paper, things looked good for Mark Rice-Oxley: wife, children, fulfilling job. But then, at his 40th birthday party, his whole world crumbled as he succumbed to depression... How many men do you know who have been through periods when their lives haven't seemed right? How badly askew were things for them? Many men suffer from depression yet it is still a subject that is taboo. Men often don't visit the doctor, or they don't want to face up to feelings of weakness and vulnerability. By telling his story, Mark Rice-Oxley hopes it will enable others to tell theirs. In this intensely moving memoir he retraces the months of his utmost despair, revisiting a landscape from which at times he felt he would never escape. Written with lyricism and poignancy, Mark captures the visceral nature of this most debilitating of illnesses with a frightening clarity, while at the same time offering a sympathetic and dispassionate view of what is happening, and perhaps why. This is not a self-help book but a memoir that is brimful of experience, understanding and hope for all those who read it. It is above all honest, touching and surprisingly optimistic.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Mark Rice-Oxley
Publisher : Abacus
Release : 2018-09-18
File : 320 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0349140308


Among The Lemon Trees

Among The Lemon Trees

Download

SUMMARY:

Escape to Greece in this bestselling holiday romance, perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop's Cartes Postales from Greece. A moving story of love and family secrets, Among the Lemon Trees is the perfect beach read by Nadia Marks. Anna thought her marriage to Max would last forever. Having raised two happy children together, she looked forward to growing old with the man she loved. But when a revelation from her husband just before their wedding anniversary shakes her entire world, she's left uncertain of what the future holds. Needing time to herself, Anna takes up an offer from her widowed father to spend the summer on the small Aegean island of his birth, unaware that a chance discovery of letters in her aunt's house will unleash a host of family secrets. Kept hidden for sixty years, they reveal a tumultuous family history, beginning in Greece at the beginning of the twentieth century and ending in Naples at the close of the Second World War. Confronted by their family's long-buried truths, both father and daughter are shaken by the discovery and Anna begins to realize that if she is to ever heal the present, she must first understand the past . . . Travel further with Secrets Under the Sun and Between the Orange Groves by Nadia Marks.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Nadia Marks
Publisher : Pan Macmillan
Release : 2017-06-01
File : 400 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781509815739