The Plantagenets

The Plantagenets

Download

SUMMARY:

The New York Times bestseller, from the author of Powers and Thrones, that tells the story of Britain’s greatest and worst dynasty—“a real-life Game of Thrones” (The Wall Street Journal) The first Plantagenet kings inherited a blood-soaked realm from the Normans and transformed it into an empire that stretched at its peak from Scotland to Jerusalem. In this epic narrative history of courage, treachery, ambition, and deception, Dan Jones resurrects the unruly royal dynasty that preceded the Tudors. They produced England’s best and worst kings: Henry II and his wife Eleanor of Aquitaine, twice a queen and the most famous woman in Christendom; their son Richard the Lionheart, who fought Saladin in the Third Crusade; and his conniving brother King John, who was forced to grant his people new rights under the Magna Carta, the basis for our own bill of rights. Combining the latest academic research with a gift for storytelling, Jones vividly recreates the great battles of Bannockburn, Crécy, and Sluys and reveals how the maligned kings Edward II and Richard II met their downfalls. This is the era of chivalry and the Black Death, the Knights Templar, the founding of parliament, and the Hundred Years’ War, when England’s national identity was forged by the sword.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Dan Jones
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2014-03-25
File : 560 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780143124924


The Plantagenets The Kings Who Made England

The Plantagenets The Kings Who Made England

Download

SUMMARY:

Eight generations of the greatest and worst kings and queens that this country has ever seen – from the White Ship to the Lionheart, bad King John to the Black Prince and John of Gaunt – this is the dynasty that invented England as we still know it today – great history to appeal to readers of Ken Follet, Bernard Cornwell, Tom Holland

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Dan Jones
Publisher : HarperCollins UK
Release : 2012-05-10
File : 672 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780007457496


The Hollow Crown

The Hollow Crown

Download

SUMMARY:

'The Hollow Crown is exhilarating, epic, blood-and-roses history . . . Jones's material is thrilling . . . There is fine scholarly intuition on display here and a mastery of the grand narrative; it is a supremely skilful piece of storytelling.' Sunday Telegraph The fifteenth century saw the crown of England change hands seven times as the great families of England fought to the death for power, majesty and the right to rule. The Hollow Crown completes Dan Jones' epic history of medieval England, and describes how the Plantagenets tore themselves apart to be finally replaced by the Tudors. Some of the greatest heroes and villains in British history were thrown together in these turbulent times: Henry V, whose victory at Agincourt and prudent rule at home marked the high point of the medieval monarchy; Edward IV, who was handed his crown by the scheming soldier Warwick the Kingmaker, before their alliance collapsed into a fight to the death; and the last Plantagenet, Richard III, who stole the throne and murdered his own nephews, the Princes in the Tower. Finally, the Tudors arrived - but even their rule was only made certain in the 1520s, when Henry VIII ruthlessly hunted down his family's last remaining enemies. In the midst this tumult, chivalry was reborn, the printing press arrived and the Renaissance began to flourish. With vivid descriptions of the battle of Towton, where 28,000 men died in a single morning, and the Battle of Bosworth Field, at which Richard III was hacked down, this is the real story behind Shakespeare's famous history plays.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Dan Jones
Publisher : Faber & Faber
Release : 2014-09-02
File : 480 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780571288090


The Plantagenets

The Plantagenets

Download

SUMMARY:

A complete account of the rulers and politics of the Plantagenet reign.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : J. S. Hamilton
Publisher : A&C Black
Release : 2010-07-07
File : 246 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781441157126


The Plantagenets The Kings That Made Britain

The Plantagenets The Kings That Made Britain

Download

SUMMARY:

Plantagenet is the name given to the English royal house descended from the union of Queen Matilda of England and her second husband Geoffrey of Anjou. The name derived from Geoffrey's nickname, which came from the sprig of broom (planta genet) which he wore in his hat. The Plantagenets ruled England for more than three hundred years, from the accession of reign of the dynasty's founder, Matilda and Geoffrey's son, Henry II, in 1154, to the death of the last Plantagenet, Richard III, at the Battle of Bosworth in 1485. The Plantagenets: The Kings That Made Britain is a compelling, year-by-year chronology of a tumultuous and critical period in the development of the English nation. Each year is covered by a concise, informative and accessible narrative, amplified by extensive quotation from contemporary sources and accompanied by generously captioned and stunning images of the period-including illuminations, portraits, maps, royal seals, tapestries and other artifacts. Authoritative, informative and sumptuous, and compiled by a scholar who is steeped in knowledge of the period, The Plantagenets: The Kings That Made Britain brings a critical era of English history dramatically and vividly to life. It is the perfect gift book for anyone with a love of, or fascination for, medieval English history.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Derek Wilson
Publisher : Quercus
Release : 2014-12-09
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781623655914


When Christ And His Saints Slept

When Christ And His Saints Slept

Download

SUMMARY:

In When Christ and His Saints Slept master storyteller and historian Sharon Kay Penman illuminates one of the lesser-known but fascinating periods of English history. The next addition in this highly acclaimed historical fiction series of the middle ages, and the first of a trilogy that will tell the story of Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine. When Christ and His Saints Slept begins with the death of King Henry I, son of William the Conqueror and father of Maude, his only living legitimate offspring.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Sharon Kay Penman
Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
Release : 2010-04-01
File : 784 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781429939522


The Conquering Family

The Conquering Family

Download

SUMMARY:

Thomas B. Costain's four-volume history of the Plantagenets begins with THE CONQUERING FAMILY and the conquest of England by William the Conqueror in 1066, closing with the reign of John in 1216. The troubled period after the Norman Conquest, when the foundations of government were hammered out between monarch and people, comes to life through Costain's storytelling skill and historical imagination.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Thomas B. Costain
Publisher : Doubleday
Release : 2012-03-07
File : 480 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780307809544


The Three Edwards

The Three Edwards

Download

SUMMARY:

Here is all the magnificent color, the sweep, the rich romance of a brilliant era. Here are the three unforgettable men who dominated it—and the strong-willed women who destroyed one of them and sought to enslave another. THE THREE EDWARDS, third in Thomas B. Costain's survey of Britain under the Plantagenets, covers the years between 1272 and 1377 when three Edwards ruled England. Edward I brought England out of the Middle Ages. Edward II had a tragic reign but gave his country Edward III, who ruled gloriously, if violently. First published in 1958, The Three Edwards, written by “one of the great storytellers of our time,” Thomas B. Costain, is the third volume in the brilliant series, including The Conquering Family, The Magnificent Century and The Last Plantagenets. “Deals with turbulent human experience...a wonderful story.”—New York Herald Tribune “So colorful and gusty is his style, so filled with phrases that grip and hold, no fiction he ever wrote holds the breathless interest of the reader more tightly...Here is an historical tapestry, filled with Color and movement...with kings and nobles, their wives and their doxies...with sound and fury unknown in our age of science without chivalry”—Miami Herald “DRAMATIC...THE FIGURES OF HISTORY COME MAGICALLY TO LIFE”—Ladies Home Journal “Under the touch of Mr. Costain’s brilliant pen, the era comes alive...fills his pages with a lively combination of biography, history, anecdote—yet seldom does he miss the mark of historical accuracy...not only exciting reading, but also stimulating and rewarding.”—Christian Science Monitor “Fascinating...Costain writes history with the pen of a novelist...This century yields inspiration in its richly narrative patterns.”—Virginia Kirkus “No events that Mr. Costain enlivens with his magic pen can fail to gain some luster from the contact.”—Saturday Review

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Thomas B. Costain
Publisher : Pickle Partners Publishing
Release : 2018-12-01
File : 459 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781789124361


The Wars Of The Roses

The Wars Of The Roses

Download

SUMMARY:

The author of Powers and Thrones and presenter of Netflix’s Secrets of Great British Castles offers a vivid account of the events that inspired Game of Thrones and Shakespeare’s Henry IV and Richard III Discover the real history behind The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses, the PBS Great Performance series of Shakespeare's plays, starring Judi Dench, Benedict Cumberbatch, Sofie Okenedo and Hugh Bonneville. The crown of England changed hands five times over the course of the fifteenth century, as two branches of the Plantagenet dynasty fought to the death for the right to rule. In this riveting follow-up to The Plantagenets, celebrated historian Dan Jones describes how the longest-reigning British royal family tore itself apart until it was finally replaced by the Tudors. Some of the greatest heroes and villains of history were thrown together in these turbulent times, from Joan of Arc and Henry V, whose victory at Agincourt marked the high point of the medieval monarchy, to Richard III, who murdered his own nephews in a desperate bid to secure his stolen crown. This was a period when headstrong queens and consorts seized power and bent men to their will. With vivid descriptions of the battles of Towton and Bosworth, where the last Plantagenet king was slain, this dramatic narrative history revels in bedlam and intrigue. It also offers a long-overdue corrective to Tudor propaganda, dismantling their self-serving account of what they called the Wars of the Roses. “If you’re a fan of Game of Thrones or The Tudors then Dan Jones’ swashbucklingly entertaining slice of medieval history will be right up your alley… Every bit as entertaining and readable as his previous blockbuster The Plantagenets.” – Daily Express

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Dan Jones
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2015-10-06
File : 416 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780143127888


The Magnificent Century

The Magnificent Century

Download

SUMMARY:

The Magnificent Century, the second volume of Costain's A History of the Plantagenets, covers Henry III's long and turbulent reign, from 1216 to 1272. During his lifetime Henry was frequently unpopular, unreliable and inconsistent. Yet his reign saw spectacular advancement in the arts, sciences and theology, as well as in government. Despite all, it was truly a magnificent century. "Combines a love of the subject with factual history. . .a great story." —San Francisco Chronicle A History of the Plantagenets includes The Conquering Family, The Magnificent Century, The Three Edwards and The Last Plantagenets.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Thomas B. Costain
Publisher : Doubleday
Release : 2012-03-21
File : 480 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780307809568