The Voyeur S Motel

The Voyeur S Motel

Download

SUMMARY:

The controversial chronicle of a motel owner who secretly studied the sex lives of his guests by the renowned journalist and author of Thy Neighbor’s Wife. On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of his landmark bestseller Thy Neighbor’s Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. “Since learning of your long-awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,” the letter began, “I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.” The man—Gerald Foos—hen divulged an astonishing secret: he had bought a motel outside Denver for the express purpose of satisfying his voyeuristic desires. Underneath its peaked roof, he had built an “observation platform” through which he could peer down on his unwitting guests. Over the years, Foos sent Talese hundreds of pages of notes on his guests, work that Foos believed made him a pioneering researcher into American society and sexuality. Through his Voyeur’s motel, he witnessed and recorded the harsh effects of the war in Vietnam, the upheaval in gender roles, the decline of segregation, and much more. In The Voyeur’s Motel. “the reader observes Talese observing Foos observing his guests.” An extraordinary work of narrative journalism, it is at once an examination of one unsettling man and a portrait of the secret life of the American heartland over the latter half of the twentieth century (Daily Mail, UK). “This is a weird book about weird people doing weird things, and I wouldn’t have put it down if the house were on fire.” —John Greenya, Washington Times

Details :

Genre : Social Science
Author by : Gay Talese
Publisher : Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
Release : 2016-07-12
File : 240 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780802189738


The Voyeur S Motel

The Voyeur S Motel

Download

SUMMARY:

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Gay Talese
Publisher : Grove Press
Release : 2017-04-06
File : 240 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1611855306


The Voyeur S Motel

The Voyeur S Motel

Download

SUMMARY:

From Gay Talese, a remarkable new work of reportage more than thirty years in the making. On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. 'Since learning of your long awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,' the letter began, 'I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.' The man went on to tell Talese a remarkable, shocking secret, so compelling that Talese travelled to Colorado to verify it in person. But because the letter-writer insisted on remaining anonymous, Talese filed his reporting away, certain the story would remain untold. Over the next thirty-five years, the man occasionally reached out to Talese to fill him in on the latest developments in his life, but he continued to insist on anonymity. Finally, after thirty-five years, he's ready to go public. In the tradition of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Talese's landmark, best-selling exploration of the sexual revolution in America, this will be a provocative, eye-opening and much-talked-about book.

Details :

Genre : Language Arts & Disciplines
Author by : Gay Talese
Publisher : Atlantic Books Ltd
Release : 2016-07-14
File : 123 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781611859546


Unto The Sons

Unto The Sons

Download

SUMMARY:

"An Italian ROOTS." —The Washington Post Book World At long last, Gay Talese, one of America's greatest living authors, employs his prodigious storytelling gifts to tell the saga of his own family's emigration to America from Italy in the years preceding World War II. Ultimately it is the story of all immigrant families and the hope and sacrifice that took them from the familiarity of the old world into the mysteries and challenges of the new.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Gay Talese
Publisher : Random House
Release : 2014-11-12
File : 592 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780307765413


The Jews

The Jews

Download

SUMMARY:

The “epic and stirring story” of 4,000 years of Judaism—told by a #1 New York Times–bestselling author (Jewish Quarterly). From their nomadic beginnings and the rise of Moses to the kings David and Solomon through the Diaspora and the unthinkable horror of the Holocaust—and culminating in the founding of the state of Israel—this is the sweeping tale of the Jews. Howard Fast, author of the classic Spartacus, displays his gift for compelling narrative throughout this eminently readable and well-researched saga. In Fast’s telling, truth is stranger, and more inspiring, than fiction. “Here, I decided, was one of the most exciting and romantic adventures in all the history of mankind,” he explains in his introduction. “It had a continuity that spanned most of recorded history. It was filled with drama, passion, tragedy, and faith; and with all due reverence for the scholars, it pleaded for a storyteller to tell it as a story, indeed as the story of all stories.” Fast’s accomplishment is required reading not only for lovers of great literature but also for anyone interested in the march of civilization. Barry Holtz, the editor of The Schocken Guide to Jewish Books hails The Jews as “an exciting and pleasurable [introduction] to a four-thousand-year epic.” This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Howard Fast
Publisher : Open Road Media
Release : 2011-12-27
File : 362 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781453234839


The Kingdom And The Power

The Kingdom And The Power

Download

SUMMARY:

“Beautifully documented . . . no less than a landmark in the field of writing and journalism.”—The Nation “Fascinating . . . Seldom has anyone been so successful in making a newspaper come alive as a human institution.”—The New York Times In this century and the last, most of history's important news stories have been broken to a waiting nation by The New York Times. In The Kingdom and the Power, former Times correspondent and bestselling author Gay Talese lays bare the secret internal intrigues at the daily, revealing the stories behind the personalities, rivalries, and scopes at the most influential paper in the world. In gripping detail, Talese examines the private and public lives of the famed Ochs family, along with their direct descendants, the Sulzbergers, and their hobnobbing with presidents, kings, ambassadors, and cabinet members; the vicious struggles for power and control at the paper; and the amazing story of how a bankrupt newspaper turned itself around and grew to Olympian heights. Regarded as a classic piece of journalism, The Kingdom and the Power is as gripping as a work of fiction and as relevant as today's headlines. Praise for The Kingdom and the Power “I know of no book about a great institution which is so detailed, so intensely personalized, or so dramatized as this volume about The New York Times.”—The Christian Science Monitor “A serious and important account of one of the few genuinely powerful institutions in our society.”—The New Leader “A superb study of people and power.”—Women's Wear Daily

Details :

Genre : Language Arts & Disciplines
Author by : Gay Talese
Publisher : Random House
Release : 2013-08-14
File : 576 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780679644736


Thy Neighbor S Wife

Thy Neighbor S Wife

Download

SUMMARY:

The provocative classic work newly updated An intimate personal odyssey across America's changing sexual landscape When first published, Gay Talese's 1981 groundbreaking work, Thy Neighbor's Wife, shocked a nation with its powerful, eye-opening revelations about the sexual activities and proclivities of the American public in the era before AIDS. A marvel of journalistic courage and craft, the book opened a window into a new world built on a new moral foundation, carrying the reader on a remarkable journey from the Playboy Mansion to the Supreme Court, to the backyards and bedrooms of suburbia—through the development of the porn industry, the rise of the "swinger" culture, the legal fight to define obscenity, and the daily sex lives of "ordinary" people. It is the book that forever changed the way Americans look at themselves and one another.

Details :

Genre : Psychology
Author by : Gay Talese
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release : 2009-06-16
File : 608 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780061872280


White Fur

White Fur

Download

SUMMARY:

A stunning star-crossed love story set against the glitz and grit of 1980s New York City When Elise Perez meets Jamey Hyde on a desolate winter afternoon, fate implodes, and neither of their lives will ever be the same. Although they are next-door neighbors in New Haven, they come from different worlds. Elise grew up in a housing project without a father and didn’t graduate from high school; Jamey is a junior at Yale, heir to a private investment bank fortune and beholden to high family expectations. Nevertheless, the attraction is instant, and what starts out as sexual obsession turns into something greater, stranger, and impossible to ignore. The couple moves to Manhattan in search of a new life, and White Fur follows them as they wander through Newport mansions and East Village dives, WASP-establishment yacht clubs and the grimy streets below Canal Street, fighting the forces determined to keep them apart. White Fur combines the electricity of Less Than Zero with the timeless intensity of Romeo and Juliet in this searing, gorgeously written novel that perfectly captures the ferocity of young love.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Jardine Libaire
Publisher : Hogarth
Release : 2018-02-27
File : 352 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780451497932


The Digested Read

The Digested Read

Download

SUMMARY:

Literary ombudsman John Crace never met an important book he didnt like to deconstruct.From Salman Rushdie to John Grisham, Crace retells the big books in just 500 bitingly satirical words, pointing his pen at the clunky plots, stylistic tics and pretensions to Big Ideas, as he turns publishers golden dream books into dross. In the grand tradition of Tom Lehrer and Stan Freberg, Crace takes the books that produce the most media hype and retells each story in its authors inimitable style. Philip Roth, Don Delillo, Margaret Drabble, Paul Auster, Alice Sebold, John Updike, Tom Wolfe, Ruth Rendell, A.S. Byatt, John LeCarre, Michael Crichton and Ian McEwan all emerge delightfully scathed in this book that makes it easy to talk knowingly about books youve never bothered to read or, for that matter, should have.

Details :

Genre : Literary Criticism
Author by : John Crace
Publisher : RDR Books
Release : 2006
File : 288 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1571431594


The V Spot

The V Spot

Download

SUMMARY:

How hot is your night going to get? Take the quiz and find out! 1. You're a curvy, cute and practical nurse, ready to unleash your inner naughty nymphette for your 25th birthday. You start with… a. Chocolate cake. b. Champagne. Lots of it. c. A blind date set up by your daring best friend. 2. Your guy turns out to be popular (and insanely hot) wrestler Brody "The Bull" Bullock. You… a. Run for the door. b. Admire his hotness, then run for the door. c. Imagine him naked. 3. You're meeting Brody at V-Spot, a "Voyeur Motel." What are you wearing? a. A cute sundress with wedge sandals b. You're not going anywhere without Spanx c. Doesn't matter. Brody is sexy enough that it's all coming off! If you selected all of the above, you're in for the night of your life….

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Wendy S. Marcus
Publisher : Harlequin
Release : 2014-10-08
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781460339596